Bone Broth

Image

Do you know what bone broth is and why you should make and eat it?

Bone broth is how soup was made before we invented processed food. Bone broth is made by simmering the bones, and the skin, and other parts of the carcass of an animal that you otherwise would not eat, such as what is left after the Thanksgiving turkey is no longer.

Broth contains minerals that we need, and in a form that our bodies can easily absorb.  From broth we can get calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, silicon, sulphur, and trace minerals.  It contains glucosamine from the cartilage and tendons.  These are all things we pay a lot of money for at the drug store.

Making bone broth is very easy to do.  After you have cooked your turkey or chicken, remove the meat off the bones and put all of the bones, skin, and everything you do not want to eat into a crockpot.  Cover it all with cold water and add a few tablespoons of apple cider vinegar.  Turn your cooker on to low and allow to cook for about 24 hours, then strain.

If you wish to make Chicken Stock, it is made in the same way, but add onion, carrots and celery to cook with the bones.  Strain all when done.

I skim the fat off the top and use that for cooking too.  It is fantastic to cook fried eggs in, as they will not stick.

When I still had a dog, I fed what remains after straining to him.  The bones became very soft and crumbly, as much of the calcium gets pulled out and is dissolved in the broth.  This is the purpose for the vinegar.  Now that Barkley is no longer with us, I put what is left after straining into my compost, as it’s good for my garden microbes too.

What can you do with your broth?  Make soup or gravy, or cook rice in it.  Place it in small containers and put it in your freezer.  Use this broth, in place one of those little cubes or cans of broth, in your recipes.

You may notice when your broth gets cold that it has gelled, not unlike Jello.  This is very, very good.  It means that your broth is not only full of wonderful and good for you minerals, it is also full of protein.

“Where did I learn about making bone broth?”, you may ask.  I learned it from The Weston Price Foundation.  There you may find lots of information about healthful eating and many lessons about the benefits of bone broth and good-for-you fats, amongst other things.

By making my own bone broth:

  • I keep my food bills lower while providing my family more nutritious and tasty meals.
  • I am able to make inexpensive, tasty, and nutritious soups and gravy.
  • I replace some of my cooking fat, that I would otherwise need to buy, with healthful chicken fat.
  • I have a free source of  ‘bone meal fertilizer’  for my organic garden (which further acts to reduce my family’s food costs).
  • I help the environment (creation care) by making the most from what I have, and therefore reserve resources that would otherwise go into the production and the sale of what I otherwise provide for myself and my family.

This is truly living More-with-Less.

© Nancy Babbitt and Just Desserts Blog, 2013-2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nancy Babbitt and Just Desserts Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “Bone Broth

Leave a Reply

