Peanut Butter: Changing the Brand We Purchase

I always used to purchase the store brand of natural peanut butter because the store brand is less expensive.  Today, I found that the store brands are now packaged in plastic containers.  This disappointed me very much.  I have always received a bonus with my peanut butter purchases – a ‘free glass storage container’.

It seems that these jars have just become more scarce.

IMG_0433

This is my new peanut butter brand, still packaged in a glass jar.

I will miss the familiar plastic yellow lid.

Why do I save peanut butter jars?

IMG_0443

They make fantastic food containers.  I cook most all the food we eat from ‘scratch’, including condiments.  Above is a picture of my homemade catsup, mustard, and sweet pickle relish, all in peanut butter jars.

We, as consumers, do not think too much about the waste that is inherent in our current capitalistic economic system.  When I do things, such as cook from scratch, the savings go well beyond the benefits to my family’s finances.  There are benefits to the environment, too.  I grew the cucumbers for the relish.  The jars they are canned in will be used time and time again.  These foods need no transportation, no special building and equipment for processing, they use minimal and recycled packaging (no printed labels or boxes or bags), and no advertising or retail space.  This is a huge savings to the environment.  Plus, whenever I can re-use a glass bottle, instead of discarding it or recycling it, a few less resources will be used up, because it takes resources to recycle, too.

Another plus is that I make these foods with ingredients of my choosing – no artificial ingredients and no high fructose corn syrup.  I can make the catsup as spicy as I like, and as thick as I like.  The mustard can be spicy or mild, grainy or smooth, sweetened with honey or not.  The choices are unlimited.  The sweet pickle relish is made using my  homemade bread-and-butter pickles.  Now that I have made my condiments, and know how very good these foods can taste, I will never return to pre-packaged, store bought condiments, ever.

How our food is produced does matter. It matters for our health and well-being, for the well-being of folks in other countries, and for the well-being of the natural environment. The foods we choose determine what kind of world we live in.  Small acts, such as being mindful of our food purchases and seeking out answers about who grows our food, who harvests our food, how our food is processed, transported, stored and sold, can bring a new awareness to how we wish to spend our food dollars.  This is living more-with-less.

We are what we do.

© Nancy Babbitt and Just Desserts Blog, 2013-2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nancy Babbitt and Just Desserts Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter: Changing the Brand We Purchase

  1. I agree 100%. I was a stay at home mom for 14 years while my children were young. We had a nice garden and I would can tomatoes in quart size jars. Pickles, relishes, sauerkraut, jams jellies etc were preserved in the pint sized jars we saved from p-nut butter. It’s difficult to find foods in glass jars today unless you wish to purchase jarred spaghetti sauce

  2. I always save jars. They are useful for shaking up homemade salad dressing, mixing up a white sauce, storing dried beans, keeping left over milkshakes after washing the blender out….their uses are endless.

Leave a Reply

