Live Below the Line

Tomorrow I will begin a new project in More-wtih-Less Living.

This project is titled, Live Below the Line.

Live Below the Line is a campaign designed to bring about awareness so that we may take action to help meet the first of the Millennium Development Goals, that of eradicating extreme poverty worldwide.  Extreme poverty is classified as living on less than $1.50 a day. Today, there are more than 1.4 billion people living in extreme poverty.  That is more than four times the entire population of the United States.  By joining this project, I will save money that would otherwise be spent on groceries.  I will donate the money I save to organization(s) of my choice.  I also expect that I will develop a greater degree of empathy for those that must live in this situation every day of their lives.  In reality, I cannot live on less than $1.50 per day, because housing and taxes for one month, consist of more than an entire year’s worth of expenses for those living in extreme poverty.  It is good for me to remember that limiting my food consumption to equate to $1.50 per day is, in reality, a poor approximation to the conditions of those who do live on less than $1.50 per day.

I believe that eradicating poverty is more than just donating money to poor countries, though. Eradicating poverty also consists of learning about the conditions which bring about this poverty and correcting those conditions.

Please join me in learning about this very important issue.

It is important to understand that the decisions we make, here in the U.S., have impacts on others.

Please support institutions that promote equality.

Shopping with organizations and companies such as Equal Exchange, Sole Rebels, and even the The Salvation Army, which are all committed to helping others, can make a big difference if many folks join in.  This helps in more than one way.  It helps by directing our purchase dollars away from the companies and organizations that make decisions that promote inequality, while at the same time empowering those that do work for equality and justice.  Considering local and green purchases promotes greater social justice too.

See more about the Live Below the Line project here.

See more about the Millennium Development Goals here.

Please leave a comment and let me know which companies and organizations you support in this effort to shop Fair, Green and Local, so I can check them out too!

© Nancy Babbitt and Just Desserts Blog, 2013-2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nancy Babbitt and Just Desserts Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

9 thoughts on “Live Below the Line

  1. Once the growing season is upon us, I’ll be purchasing my produce locally. Instead of purchasing oranges and grapefruit from chain stores, I purchase from Citrus Direct….Oranges and grapefruit trucked to our area every 3 weeks during the growing season from the local citrus groves in FL. Growing some of my own helps my pocketbook also. I learned from my mom who lived thru the depression. She showed her daughters how to make do with minimal funds.

  2. I read a book about a woman who started a fair trade company that would only work with coops that benefitted women. Her reasoning was that, statistically, when you lift a woman out of poverty, you lift her children too. Women sent their children to school as soon as they could afford to do so. The company she started is globalgirlfriend.com. I bought several things there last year. Last April I decided to only buy clothes from that company or from a second hand source such as garage sales until Christmas. It was a difficult thing to follow but, for the most part, I succeded.

    • Hi Jill,
      Thanks so much for this feedback and the sources for fairly traded goods and the links. I’ve made a new post telling folks all about global girlfriends, referenced you, and added these links to my fair, green, local page.
      Nancy

  3. very good initiative Nancy. Some ways of living I found enriched me a lot: dumpster diving, hitchike, volunteer in communities, collectives, move by bicycle, reuse cloths, do fundraisings to help useful projects. I´ve never been so rich.. 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Mr. Varichon. “Dumpster diving’ is also known as freeganism. I am glad that you mentioned that. We are a very wasteful society – throwing ‘away’ things that still have usefulness. In reality, there is no away. Volunteer communities, collectives and cooperatives are great, I agree.

    • When i was living on $300 a month (not fun but it can be done) i dived in the Salvation Army Thrift Store dumpster. The SA gets so many clothes donated that they only keep the best for their store. The dumpster was the source of many outfits, some only missing a button, easily sewed on.
      I once found a case of sausage unopened, in a dumpster behind a supermarket, and some buddies of mine found 25 cases of MRE’s in a state park dumpster, after the Army Reserves was on maneuvers there.

  4. While I agree with the basic concept of helping everyone be able to have a better quality of life, I have to wonder if in many ways we are not making things worse. Take for example an agrarian society, where few if any members of a village are working for wages. Instead, the community is existing as it has for centuries, growing crops, raising livestock, hunting, gathering. The people tell their ancient stories, play games, laugh, love, morn as they always have.

    The first that comes to mind is the remaining aborigines in Australia and the tribes in the Amazon. I know that there have been other areas in Asia where factories have come in to oh shall we say make shoes, displacing the agrarian culture and intentionally or not crafting an air of economic slavery for the population.

    Tim

    • Hi Tim,
      I appreciate what you have written. The “West” has encroached on the lifestyles of many indigenous peoples resulting in great suffering. Many times the consequence of this interference has been poverty and hardship for these people. Unfortunately, where globalization is already taking place, it is important to educate ourselves to not further contribute to their exploitation and harm. We can do this with careful, educated, and intentional purchase choices that not only prevent further injury, but also contribute to these people’s well being.
      Nancy

Leave a Reply

